Snow day

It snowed yesterday evening through the wee hours this morning and, though there can’t be more than 3 inches on the ground, it wreaked havoc on life as we know it in Madrid. Result? Esperanza Aguirre, beloved president of the Comunidad de Madrid, canceled school.

When I went to bed last night and the snow was still falling and sticking I guessed something like this would have to happen. The Monday before winter break was also a snowy mess, but I had a second period substitution and slogged my way into school only to spend the morning entertaining the kids with games and a movie before they sent everyone (well, the few of us there) home. It hadn’t seemed like much snow that time, and was actually quite a slushy mess because it started to rain, but Madrid is completely unprepared for situations like this. I didn’t see a single plow or salt truck that day.

This time I was prepared for Madrid’s utter un-preparedness and, since I normally go in a bit later on Mondays, texted a coworker upon waking up. She said she’d gotten into school without a problem, so, disappointed but carrying on with my routine, I laced up my running shoes and went for a run in relative snowy solitude in the Retiro (gorgeous in white).

By chance I glanced at my email before hopping into the shower and saw a friend had mentioned that school was canceled in much of Madrid. I checked my school email and, indeed, class had been canceled today, though the facility was open to take care of the kids that did make it. I called my direct boss who told me that there were plenty of teachers there and they would all go home at lunch time anyway—no need for me to go in.

So I joined the hordes of camera-armed, hiking boot-clad unusually smiley madrileños and headed to the Retiro.

5 Responses to “Snow day”


  1. 1 Louisa Sislian Monday, 11 January, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    Beautiful picture postcards.

  2. 2 Balanced Rocks Wednesday, 20 January, 2010 at 3:13 pm

    How I wanted my x-country skis to be with me!

  3. 3 Katie Wednesday, 20 January, 2010 at 4:10 pm

    Oh man, me too! I saw a guy on them, though it was really barely enough to ski. I did bring back my snowshoes after Christmas–plan to use those somewhere towards the North.

  4. 4 Balanced Rocks Friday, 22 January, 2010 at 10:16 am

    Katie, thanks for stoping by VQTQV….I would like to get in conact with you about a book I’m writing. Can’t find your email on this page, could you drom me a “line” so I can tell you what it’s about? Thanks!

  5. 5 lolabees Wednesday, 14 September, 2011 at 12:56 am

    Love the picture of Retiro. I taught English in Madrid years ago, but we never had any snow. It’s nice to see the different perspective!


Comments are currently closed.



Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to España Profunda and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers


