Recent observations on the metro

What do you think of changing your baby on the metro? Good idea? The other afternoon I witnessed a young mother changing her rather large baby’s very dirty diaper in a row of three seats on line 10. I boarded the train when the operation was already in progress, but, judging by the splatter, it seemed that it might have been some sort of shit explosion necessitating immediate nappy changing. I felt sort of a mix of revulsion and empathy toward this woman, but I have to say that she was not attending to the matter in a very neat fashion. When she left the train, there was definitely still shit on the seat.

And how about clipping your nails? Great idea! The metro is the perfect place for that. This afternoon I had the privilege of listening to the clip clip clip of a woman’s nail clippers as she took care of some of her personal grooming underground on line 6. What a treat!

8 Responses to “Recent observations on the metro”


  1. 1 carolina Monday, 1 June, 2009 at 4:35 am

    oh pooh. i much prefer the public displays of affection. Today I saw a black woman in a halter jump suit that was two small for her curvy figure and her man was sitting and looking up and her and grabbed at the fat on her thighs and licked his lips. The best part? Other black and latino men on the train had caught him do it and they NODDED in agreement/approval. barrrrf

  2. 2 Amy Wednesday, 3 June, 2009 at 10:42 am

    I once had the pleasure of watching a man pluck his nose hairs on the metro. He would grab hold of one and pull, grimacing from the pain, until he managed to free it. Then he’d flick the hair onto the floor and go for another…

  3. 3 Hitesh Sawlani Tuesday, 16 June, 2009 at 10:54 pm

    Bizzare, then again the past 2 months I’ve seen my own share of random. Just today a woman (who seemed to be mentally disturbed) kept shouting and doing round-house kicks (just like Chuck Norris..) on the large glass enclosures that hold the Metro Maps on the wall (Plaza España – Line 3). Last month I saw a woman and 3 underage girls running across a metro station (Retiro – Line 2) with security guards running behind them whilst talking on walkie talkies!

  4. 4 Katie Wednesday, 17 June, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    Wow. Keep the stories of Metro freaks coming…

  5. 5 Ayse Saturday, 27 June, 2009 at 5:07 pm

    I also noticed the Spaniards’ bizarre bodily function displays in public. In numerous occasions, I witnessed men taking a leak on the side of the walkways (some continue walking as they go!). I thought maybe they are more connected with primal themselves than we are in the states. They seem to be definitely more tolerant towards less hygienic and more obscene behaviors, which makes exploring the culture even more fascinating…

  6. 6 Madrid! Thursday, 27 August, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    Hi to everybody!!
    I saw the comments of this theme and I think that you are having a bad idea of spanish exploring culture thinking that here in spain all the people is like some of those protagonist of yours histories..I know that you know that this is not all, so i hope that you are happy in Madrid!!

  7. 7 Oscar Wednesday, 16 September, 2009 at 2:52 am

    First of all, congratulations for such a good blog.
    It is very interesting to get to know your own city and people through your eyes.
    Anyway, I could not help giving my opinion about this last comment. It might be that we Spaniards are
    “more connected with primal ourselves”, but do not forget that Madrid is a big city and you can find many type of persons, sometimes strage persons.

    I have been to the States several times, and believe me, though my opinion about Americans is great, you can find many weird experiences in NY subway or in the strees of downtown Chicago, Bufallo, Vegas, …

    Well, hope you keep posting on your blog.
    I liked specially the post in which you explained us the bilingual system of schools in Madrid. I did not know how it works. Thanks.
    Have a great day.

    Cheers from Sydney.
    Oscar.

  8. 8 Stephanie Friday, 5 March, 2010 at 6:04 pm

    Oh dear god! The metro wasn’t like that when I lived in Madrid!


Comments are currently closed.



Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to España Profunda and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers


