On sincerity

In honor of Valentine’s day, yesterday I gave the students in my English for actors class some romantically themed discussion questions. One of my students asked the group this one: what’s your idea of a romantic evening?

The answer from one of the actresses without skipping a beat:

“Have a dinner and, then, fuck.”

4 Responses to “On sincerity”


  1. 1 Margaret Friday, 13 February, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    Reminds me of the compilation: Six Word Memoirs on Love and Heartbreak – http://www.smithmag.net/sixword-love/

    Based on Hemmingway’s 6 word story: For Sale, baby shoes, never used.

    Using just 6 words is a great acting activity…your student did it wonderfully!

  2. 2 Katie Friday, 13 February, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    Ha, yeah, I’ve done six-word memoirs with my more advanced students and it didn’t occur to me that this actress did it without even thinking. I was more impressed by how honest she was! ;)

  3. 3 carolina Sunday, 15 February, 2009 at 12:45 am

    awesome. happy v-day. i love you!!!

  4. 4 Troy Wednesday, 25 February, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    The English teacher Geek in me says that there is room for a lesson, or at least a warmer in your kind actress’ honest response. Why not see how long they can get the sentence by adding one word at time? Or better yet, turn it into a future predictions lessons or even one based on conditionals…
    Certainly a little more interesting than Unit 12.


Comments are currently closed.



Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to España Profunda and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers


