Marathon Sunday

This morning I awoke not to a cacophony of car horns, or the incessant buzz of a jackhammer, or people shouting (errr, talking) to each other in the street, but to the Chariots of Fire instrumental theme looped over and over. It took my sleep-addled brain several minutes to remember why, and then I quickly put on my glasses and joined my roommates on the balcony to watch the runners in the 31st Maratón de Madrid make their way down our street. The runners streamed by, buoyed by the downhill stretch and the still cool morning. They chatted, ate bananas, or stopped to use the facilities (or should I say walls) of the alley below our flat. And then I went back to bed, lulled to sleep by Chariots of Fire.

1 Response to “Marathon Sunday”



  1. 1 A marathon encounter « España Profunda Trackback on Sunday, 26 April, 2009 at 12:39 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to España Profunda and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers


