One of the many reasons to love Lisboa

Lisboa

Tile-fronted old mansions, yellow trolleys, red roofs, cobble-stone streets, wrinkled old women peering out windows, colorful laundry blowing in the breeze from the Río Tejo, pastéis de nata aside, Lisboa rocks my world because you can hardly smoke anywhere indoors.

What a breath of fresh air.

Yes, in some bars in the Bairro Alto you can smoke, but in many you can’t. Smoking was prohibited in every restaurant we ate in. It was wonderful.

Azulejos

In this sense, the city is light years ahead of Madrid. In other comparisons, and with the experience of last year’s Semana Santa under my belt, I’d say that Portugal also betters Spain’s simple green salad (yes, that lettuce should be green, Spaniards) and bread, which is crustier and heartier in our western neighbor. I’ve found the Portuguese to be lovely people and, in my two short trips, I’ve even grown fond of their language, which sounds soft and whispery with the slightest hint of a more sing-songy Russian. I’ll certainly be back.

Funicular

6 Responses to “One of the many reasons to love Lisboa”


  1. 1 Miguel Tuesday, 25 March, 2008 at 10:01 am

    I was born in Lisboa! :):):)

  2. 2 Ryan Wednesday, 26 March, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    I’m with you, Lisbon Rocks!!! Great food, sites, and warm people…a must see on this peninsula we call Iberia

  3. 3 erika Sunday, 30 March, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    genial la página!
    me encanta.
    es intersante ver la perspectiva de otros extranjeros sobre este país tan curiosísimo

    un beso!

  4. 4 Katie Sunday, 30 March, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    glad to hear it, ryan!

    gracias, erika!

  5. 5 pedro Wednesday, 22 October, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    Man…. I so wish I could return to Lisbon… yet i’m stuck here in Madrid, for professional reasons (fancy way of saying no-job-there).

    And yes, we actually have bread there that DOES NOT injure the inside of your mouth, unlike, oh, say, madrid’s…?

    ;)


  1. 1 Lisboa in Condé Nast Traveler « España Profunda Trackback on Thursday, 5 June, 2008 at 7:13 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to España Profunda and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers


