It’s the little things

peanut butter!If there’s one thing that shows my true American-ness it’s got to be my love of peanut butter.

It all comes down to the fact that I consider it a kitchen staple, much like milk or bread. With peanut butter you can have a meal. It works with bread, with fruit, by itself. And it’s totally tasty and pretty nutritious to boot.

But in Spain you might as well be talking about frog eggs or something. Peanut what? they say. How do you eat that? They don’t really get it.

So it’s become something I always bring back with me after a trip home, or ask visitors to bring me. I like the natural stuff, just peanuts and oil, and maybe some salt. In desperate times I’ve been known to make it myself (try it! all you need are a bunch of peanuts and some oil and a good ol’ stick blender!). And most recently I resorted to buying it at the natural foods store where a tiny jar costs the equivalent of well over $5.

And tonight a student who was just in the U.S. brought me a jar, though I had barely mentioned the word to him. He brought natural, too. I couldn’t be happier.

1 Response to “It’s the little things”


  1. 1 ValenciaSon Thursday, 31 July, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    I used to eat crema de cacahuetes when I spent a year in Spain, as a kid. It was an effective find for this homesick american kid. Is it no longer available in España, other than at some specialty store? I think my mom bought it at Superette. I know I got some strange stares from my fellow classmates at my colegio as I devoured my little piece of the US at snack time.


Comments are currently closed.



Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to España Profunda and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers


