Gone.

Thank goodness.

I was furious when I saw a pantallazo (or the city government’s latest foray into big bucks from advertising) erected right in my neighborhood, in front of a city-run cultural center. These beasts are ugly and invasive no matter how you look at them, but in front of a historic public building? Come on now. I was not the only one who complained about the pantallazos, though. Within several months people started reporting the removal (or relocation?) of these suckers. But mine continued to stand.

And then on Valentine’s Day I received the most wonderful gift. I happened to pass by the Centro Cultural Galileo, as I sometimes do on my way to work. I could see the base of the pantallazo surrounded by workers from down the block. My heart sped up and I grabbed my camera:

Bye bye pantallazo!

But in the following days I returned to the site and the monster was still there, rotating through its ads for mobile phone companies and expensive cars. Not until today did I see that it was finally gone. Forever.

Former site of pantallazo

2 Responses to “Gone.”


  1. 1 karine Tuesday, 26 February, 2008 at 10:59 pm

    Yes, it’s gone, I’ve seen it too, what a relief!
    Honestly I didn’t think it would happen … maybe it’s the March 9 effect?

  2. 2 Katie Tuesday, 26 February, 2008 at 11:11 pm

    It could be due to the elections, but since the mayor isn’t involved, I somewhat doubt it. I’m sure it was the staff of the Centro Cultural Galileo and possibly the vecinos.


Comments are currently closed.



Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to España Profunda and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers


