Today I learned how to downhill ski.

Indoors! Yes, folks, believe what you are seeing.slope.jpg

I have spent years yearning to learn how to downhill ski. I’ve cross-country skied with my family since I was a wee thing, but the opportunity to learn downhill never presented itself in the right moment. After my thwarted attempt to learn last year, I felt determined that 2008 would bring better things.

So I made a plan with a ski instructor friend to head over to the Madrid SnowZone–Spain’s only indoor ski slope–this weekend. Located in the appropriately named megamall Xanadú, the ski center consists of a bunny slope (100 meters long) and the main slope, which is longer (at 250 meters) and higher. There’s even a chairlift on the main run. lift.jpg

After we’d paid 36 euros each (26 for up to four hours of skiing and 5 each for boots and skis), we got our equipment, locked up our backpacks, and went out into the -2 degree Celsius cold. After a few runs down the bunny slope, my friend (a very skilled teacher), decided I was ready for the real thing.

And so we spent a very enjoyable two hours skiing on real snow indoors. I’m not necessarily in favor of this sort of artificial environment, but I must say that we had a great time and it really was an ideal and very comfortable way to learn how to ski. The bonus is that Xanadú is only half an hour from Principe Pío on the interurbano 534.

I have the rest of my life to go to real mountains to ski.skis.jpg

4 Responses to “Today I learned how to downhill ski.”


  1. 1 lacarolinamadrid Sunday, 20 January, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    you forgot to mention that your skilled instructor is also espectacularmente guapa :-P

  2. 2 Tom Monday, 21 January, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    Sound like you’ve caught the bug! Skiing’s great and there are loads of places in Spain where you can try it for real. My wife and I just got back from skiing in Port del Comte (about 1 1/2 hrs from Barcelona) and we had a fantastic time.

  3. 3 Bilingual Blogger Sunday, 27 January, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    Wow, this sounds like fun! Considering the very mild winter we’ve been having here in Madrid, (today I saw people jogging in shorts), it’s nice to know that one can find winter-like conditions somewhere nearby. I miss having 4 seasons!!

  4. 4 Charisma Saturday, 2 February, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Wow! Being from Colorado, perhaps it’s high time that I should learn…


Comments are currently closed.



Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to España Profunda and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers


