Spanish radio doesn’t completely suck!

I have spent the last two years believing that Spanish radio sucks. And it does, mostly. The problem is that it’s full of commercial pop with hardly any variety. There’s even a “Kiss” station in Spain, which I’ve since learned is synonymous worldwide with “terrible music.”

But, finally, I’ve seen the light. I recently commented on the dearth of good radio in this country to one of my students and then my Spanish profe, both of whom I believed weren’t lovers of the Spanish pop that pollutes most of the airwaves here. The response, from both of them, was, “Radio 3!”

So I’ve started to give my iPod a break and instead I listen to Radio 3 on my cell phone on the bus on my way to class. It’s the third channel of Spanish public radio (Radio Nacional de España): the first is general talk/news, etc. and the second is classical music.

Radio 3 has been a revelation. It is, of course, how radio should be: different programs at different hours of the day with hosts who are knowledgeable and entertaining. And, being public radio, there are no ads. Which is fantastic. My favorite programs thus far are Música es 3 and Siglo 21, which are on in the mornings (8-10 and 10-12, respectively). There’s also a lovely jazz program Saturday nights: ideal accompaniment for an evening at home with a good meal and a bottle of vino.

6 Responses to “Spanish radio doesn’t completely suck!”


  1. 2 inthesity Tuesday, 18 December, 2007 at 11:55 pm

    Well M80 is not that bad on weekends, they play 80´s music, pure nostalgia of my youth

  2. 3 Katie Wednesday, 19 December, 2007 at 12:02 am

    I agree–I also love 80s music. I think it’s the number of ads they play that really gets me… And the repetition of commercial radio.

  3. 4 susi Thursday, 10 January, 2008 at 10:46 am

    radio3 is the best radio on the world . I specially love Siglo21:)

  4. 5 Luis Monday, 9 March, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    Wow 2 years to find out. Is there anything similar in the States? Cause I think that your country is also plague by commercial radios full of ads and shitty pop music, and would love to find a simmilar alternative as Radio 3.

    • 6 Katie Monday, 9 March, 2009 at 11:06 pm

      Yeah, it is plagued also by a lot of bad stations, but we have a wonderful thing called public radio that exists in all states (as far as I know). Many times it’s the public radio stations are affiliated with a university and play great music. Check it out here: http://www.npr.org/. If you tell me where you are in the States, I can help you find you a good station.


Comments are currently closed.



Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to España Profunda and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers


