¡No más números 900!

I just want to rant a little bit here about the relative lack of toll-free numbers in Spain. I can call anyone’s landline in Spain from mine completely free (most people can if they’ve contracted Internet in their house), but to call my health insurance provider I have to pay. Where’s the logic?

Last year the Comunidad de Madrid gave us auxiliares private medical insurance with MAPFRE, a very well-known Spanish insurer. The insurance is very good, but I had to call them whenever I visited a doctor and needed some sort of follow-up (physical therapy, lab analysis, etc.) because you must get an authorization code for the additional treatment. The only number one can reach them on is a 902-number, o sea, a number you must pay to call. It’s a shared-cost number (I pay part and MAPFRE pays part), but still. It angers me to have to pay for something like that. I’m not the only one: there’s a whole community of people outraged by these 900 numbers (901, one step worse than 902, charges the caller everything) and they have a campaign to inform the public of the no-cost equivalent of these numbers.

Unfortunately, the 902-equivalent number for MAPFRE Caja Salud doesn’t seem to exist.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to España Profunda and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers


