Trashed

There aren’t many people in the Parque del Oeste early on a Saturday morning: a handful of runners and people walking their dogs, the homeless people who camp out there, and the bright yellow- and blue-clad parks workers, who are working hard at cleaning up last night’s botellón. It’s a shame that that’s the sight that greets me as I descend the hill from Moncloa into the park — bottles, cups, and plastic bags as far as the eye can see. Don’t get me wrong: I’m all in favor of outdoor drinking. But can’t you please clean up after yourselves? The park is full of bins. It’s just not that difficult.

But cleaning up isn’t a huge priority for some people here in Madrid. Look at the hundreds of dogs walkers who turn the streets into a sort of nasty hopscotch when they don’t pick up after their dogs. Or the people who just toss the wrapper of whatever they might have been eating directly onto the sidewalk. Didn’t their parents teach them not to litter?

I could go on and on about the lack of civic responsibility I observe in Madrid daily, but I won’t. Instead, I’ll leave you with a photo of a hand-painted sign in the Cala de San Pedro (one of the most beautiful coves in Almería) asking visitors/campers to please pack their trash out with them. The cove is part of the Cabo de Gata-Níjar National Park and therefore one is expected to be more conscientious. basura

Can you guess what I did not include in the picture? Yep. There were mountains of trash conveniently left below the sign.

1 Response to “Trashed”


  1. 1 Carl Saturday, 6 October, 2007 at 7:13 pm

    I agree. My heroes are the guys in the green suits who clean up all the trash thrown on the ground in Madrid.

    http://la-madrid.blogspot.com/2007/07/just-say-thank-you-to-limpieza.html


Comments are currently closed.



Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to España Profunda and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers


