A conversation with one of my 7-year olds on the street

I was on my way to tennis class this afternoon when I caught up to Christian, one of my second grade students. He was alone, walking quite slowly, and clutching a bag of chuches (candy).

“Hi, Christian!” I said.

“Hello.”

“Where are you going?”

“To the computer.”

“Ah,” I said, thinking a moment. There was an internet café a few meters ahead and I motioned towards it. He nodded.

“Where’s your mom?”

“At the restaurant.”

Geez. Poor kid is trying to entertain himself while Mom works. “Where’s the restaurant?”

Without missing a beat he told me the address and then the name when I asked. We had an entire conversation in English. On the street.

I smiled the rest of the way to tennis.

2 Responses to “A conversation with one of my 7-year olds on the street”


  1. 1 Amy Thursday, 21 June, 2007 at 6:24 pm

    Hi, Katie,

    I was just wondering where you take tennis. I was looking for a class but the only ones I find are through the municipal polideportivos. And those, of course, don’t offer the classes in the summer. Also, if you’re interested in playing during the day, I’d love to. I’m not great but I can play a game… :)
    -Amy

  2. 2 Katie Thursday, 21 June, 2007 at 6:39 pm

    hey amy! i actually classes at the imder canal isabel II–o sea, it’s a municipal thing. classes end this month. that’s a whole other subject for a blog post.


Comments are currently closed.



Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to España Profunda and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers


