Torrijas!

It’s Semana Santa here in España (that would be Easter Week for you non-Spanish speakers) and what’s on the menu? Torrijas! Torrijas are French toast, Spanish style. Meaning made with olive oil. That’s right, instead of frying the milk- and egg-soaked bread in butter, you drop it into a pan of hot olive oil.

I helped my boyfriend’s mother make them yesterday morning. She had three bowls: milk, egg, and cinnamon-sugar. She dipped the day-old bread into the milk bowl, then the egg, and then the oil-filled pan. When the bread had turned a lovely golden color, she dunked it into the cinnamon-sugar bowl and covered it with the stuff. I ate the leftovers this morning with bananas and strawberries on the side. ¡Qué rico!

4 Responses to “Torrijas!”


  1. 1 Raronauer Tuesday, 3 April, 2007 at 8:02 am

    The Minimalist just did a piece on Torrijas. You can see a video of him making them here:
    http://video.on.nytimes.com/?fr_story=3cbf232d0baa56c89fb0cfd93a208e56c60e3c84

  2. 2 Katie Tuesday, 3 April, 2007 at 12:31 pm

    thanks for that, dude–i had no idea!

  3. 3 leftbanker Tuesday, 3 April, 2007 at 10:08 pm

    I love your photos.

    It almost feels like blasphemy to use butter instead of olive oil here. When I do, I have to explain to my Spanish friends that it’s the French side of my family that’s doing the cooking for this particular dish.

    Oh boy, another food-related holiday. I’ll either need more will-power or bigger pants.

  4. 4 Janelle Sunday, 6 May, 2007 at 2:34 am

    I love torrijas! The other day in my neighborhood i saw a sign that said “Las mejores torrijas de Madrid” so I went in and bought 2. At 2 euros each, they weren’t cheap, but delicious. The best in Madrid? No se, but I may do some more research on that!


Comments are currently closed.



Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to España Profunda and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers


